Apply For A New York Insurance License
You will be assigned an NPN. This unique identifier is assigned through the licensing application process and is used to track individuals and business entities on a national basis. The NPN is used by many states to replace a producer license number.
After passing the license examination , you must submit your license application to the Department, along with any other required paperwork for the type of license you are seeking. You may obtain license application information from the Departments website here.
Important: Applications must be received within two years from the date of passing the examination. Incomplete applications or applications without the required fee will not be accepted or placed on file.
If you were licensed previously but have not been licensed within the two years immediately preceding the application date, you must:
- Pass the appropriate licensing exam administered by PSI and
- Submit an application and any required documentation noted in the appropriate application sections noted below.
License Requirements Based on Residency
Requirements for licensing vary depending on whether you are a resident or nonresident. A resident licensee is one who has declared New York as the Home State.
A nonresident licensee is one who has declared a state other than New York as the Home State and is licensed in good standing for the lines of authority for which one is applying for in New York.
Resident Licensing Requirements
Life Accident & Health Course
This two-day course will help prepare you for the state exam. It is seven chapters and reviews information on regulation and licensure issues. Each chapter comes with quizzes, and participants will be guaranteed access to our highest level of resources, including textbooks, materials, and practice exams.
How To Get A Plumbing License In New York
When you think of the state-of-the-art architecture in New York, the last thing youâre probably thinking of is the plumbing system, but New York has some of the oldest and most complex plumbing in the country. New York City alone has 6,600 miles of pipes and main. Thatâs about the distance from New York to Alaska and back again!
Maintaining this intricate system of pipes are the members of the plumbing trade, those highly skilled professionals who help stop disasters before they even have a chance to strike.
Not only is plumbing an essential career, but it can also be a pretty lucrative one. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, plumbers make about $56,000 a year, with a 5% predicted growth rate between 2020 and 2030.
Are you ready to join the plumbing trade? Want to learn more about how to get plumbing jobs? Check out this guide and get started on your New York plumbing career today!
Also Check: Are The New York Rangers In The Playoffs
Are There Any Tips For Buying A Car
- Take the car for a test drive.
- Have the car inspected by a reliable mechanic or American Automobile Association approved repair shop before agreeing to buy it.
- Be sure to get a receipt.
- Get the title for the vehicle.
- Be aware of New York State ‘s Lemon Laws: NYS’ new and used car lemon laws provide legal solutions for consumers who buy or lease cars. If a car does not live up to the written warranty and cannot be repaired–or if it has not been repaired correctly after a reasonable number of attempts–the consumer could receive a refund or replacement car.
You must purchase automobile insurance if you buy a car. This can add a substantial cost to car ownership. Please be sure to consider the cost of insurance when planning your car budget.
Pass Your New York Licensing Exam
After completing your required prelicensing course, you must pass a state licensing exam. Kaplans prelicensing content is based directly on the New York licensing exams, so you will be prepared to pass the first time.
Certificate of Completion Requirements
- To be issued a School Certificate, candidates must comply with all prelicensing course attendance requirements and pass the final course exam .
- Candidates must permanently retain the certificate, but it is not needed at exam.
- When submitting a license application, applicant must present evidence that they possess a school certificate.
- Certificates are good for a lifetime.
- The state requires those who enroll in the Premium Live Online Package to answer attendance verification polling questions for the entire live online class to earn credit.
Exam Provider: PSI
Frequently Asked Questions About the New York Licensing Exam
After completing my prelicensing, how should I prepare for exam day?
The following suggestions will help you prepare for your examination.
On the day of the examination, you should arrive at least 30 minutes before your appointment. This extra time is for sign-in, identification, and familiarizing yourself with the examination process. If you arrive late, you may not be admitted to the examination site and you will forfeit your examination registration fee.
Primary Identification Choose one
- State issued drivers license
- State issued identification card
Also Check: How Much Is A Plane Ticket To New York City
Do Plumbers Need A Plumbing License In New York
Yes, the State of New York does require you to have a plumberâs license before you can work as a plumber.
New York State itself does not have reciprocity agreements with other states. However, different municipalities may have reciprocity agreements with each other. Youâll need to check with your local licensing board to see what reciprocity looks like in your region.
Application Review And License
After you have submitted all of your required documents, taken your pre-license education course, passed your state insurance license exam, and your background check has been completed, your states insurance authority will review your application.
This can take anywhere from a few days to a few weeks. If your processing authority has questions, they will follow up with you.
Once your application has been approved, you will receive notification and a copy of your official insurance license. Print this for your records, as well as to have available for potential clients.
You should always be able to show your state insurance license if asked. When applying for a new job within the insurance industry, your employer will ask for your license number and National Producer Number .
Also Check: How To Meet A Rich Man In New York
Fees And Renewal Period
Licenses are issued for up to 2 years. Individual/tba licenses will be issued with an expiration date determined by the applicants date of birth:
- If born in an even numbered year, the license will expire on the birthday in an even numbered year.
- If born in an odd numbered year, the license will expire on the birthday in an odd numbered year.
All licensing fees are non-refundable. A full fee is charged when a license is issued for a licensing period of more than one year a half fee is charged when a license is issued for a period of one year or less.
For New York residents the full fee is $80, half fee is $40.
Non-residents please see the Fee Schedules to determine the licensing fee.
Finra Securities License Exams
Many insurance agents go on to get their securities license as well. These licenses allow insurance agents to market and sell securities or variable-contract life insurance policies and are administered by the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority .
Insurance agents often choose to get the Series 6 and Series 63 licenses. To take these exams, you need to pass the prerequisite Securities Industry Essentials exam and be sponsored by a FINRA-member firm, company, or organization. You can choose to get your Series 7 license to market and sell additional securities-based products.
You can also get your Series 65 or Series 66 license, which allows you to market and sell securities in your state.These exams are administered by the North American Securities Administrators Association . The FINRA and NASAA exams are complementary and together can allow you to provide the best products available to your clients.
Recommended Reading: How Much Does Artificial Insemination Cost In New York
New York Insurance License Application
Once you have completed your exams, you are now ready to apply for your license. If you have more than one line of authority that you have passed the exam for, be sure to apply for all of those lines.
You must wait 48 hours after passing the exam to apply for your license.
The fee for an online application is $40 per line of authority.
Fill out your online application on the New York DFS License Application page.
Find Ny License Requirements For Your Occupation And Location
The first step in getting your business license is finding out exactly what obligations you have. To start, review this New York State site to explore different types of licenses. Youll also find useful business starter guides on the NY Business Express site.
My favorite tool, and the one I recommend most, is the Business Wizard. This is a simple tool that asks questions about your business and gives you a custom checklist of what rules apply to you. As far as state government websites and tools go, its one of the better ones Ive seen.
After getting your checklist from the Wizard, its time to shift your attention to your neighborhood. Visit your city and countys website to find New York business license requirements, fees, and applications.
To get you started, Ive listed links for some of the states largest cities:
Before you get mad at me for ignoring NYC, we have a section for the Big Apple below.
Don’t Miss: How To Pay A Ticket Online New York
Life Accident & Health Individual/tba Agent Or Broker
A Life Accident & Health agent or broker is licensed to sell, solicit or negotiate life insurance annuities and/or accident & health insurance
- Life insurance is insurance that provides protection against the death of an individual in the form of a payment to a beneficiary.
- An annuity is an agreement that the insurance company will pay an income benefit, in specified periodic payments for the life of the insured, or for a specified period.
- Accident and health insurance is insurance covering accidental death or personal injury by accident, sickness, ailment or bodily injury.
A life agent or life broker may also be licensed to sell variable life and/or variable annuity products. The Agent or Broker must hold the life line of authority and must be registered with the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority and must furnish the FINRA CRD number.
New York Insurance Continuing Education Requirements
All insurance licensees in New York, including producers and public adjusters, must complete 15 hours of continuing education during each two-year period of active licensure. If you hold both a life/health and a property/casualty license, you must complete 30 hours of CE, including 15 hours in each license area.
You may take any course that the state has approved as CE for your line category. Courses categorized as “bridge” may satisfy both life/health and property/casualty lines.
Only courses completed through approved Provider Organizations may count toward CE. You may take any course approved for your insurance line.
Approved course formats include:
Rules for Non-Residents
Non-resident producers are exempt from New York’s general CE requirements if their home state has a CE requirement.
If you’re a non-resident looking to claim this exemption, you must remain in good standing with your home state. If your home state does not have a CE requirement, you must comply with New York’s requirements.
If you are a non-resident looking to sell long-term care partnership insurance, you must fulfill New York’s LTCP CE requirements regardless of your home state requirements. More information about those requirements is below.
Carryover of Excess CE
If you are renewing your insurance license, CE hours above the minimum 15 or 30 hours may not carry over into the next two-year term.
Insurance License Term Renewal Requirements
Rules for Taking the Exam
Read Also: Must Eat In New York
What Licenses Do I Need To Become An Insurance Agent Or Broker In New York
All insurance agents and brokers practising in the state of New York must obtain a license to practice from the states Department of Financial Services. Before a license will be granted, candidates must complete an approved line of pre-licensing education and pass the state licensing exam.
Agent and broker licenses in the state of New York can be issued to individuals, partnerships, corporations and limited liability companies. Individuals and sublicensees must be at least 18 years of age.
Obtaining a property and casualty insurance agent license
P& C agent licenses are issued under section 2103 of the Insurance Law. The New York Department of Financial Services says that in order to become licensed as a property and casualty agent, an applicant must:
- Apply electronically online or submit a fully completed Property/Casualty Agent application form
- Submit documentation showing successful completion of a Department approved pre-licensing education course, with no less than 90-hours of instruction
- Submit documentation showing he/she has passed the state licensing exam prescribed by the Superintendent within two years of submitting the licensing application
- Have an approved appointment from a sponsoring insurance company
- Have an electronic payment or check payable to the Superintendent of Insurance for the license fee
Whats the standard term for P& C agent licenses?
The term for agent licenses is up to two years.
Are there any exceptions to these rules?
Get An International Driving Permit
An International Driving Permit is not required in NYS, but it is helpful because it informs authorities in several languages that you have a valid driver’s license. By itself, the International Driving Permit is not valid for driving in NYS. You cannot obtain an International Driving Permit when you get to the U.S. so please bring one with you if you plan to drive in NYS.
Also Check: Who Owns The New Yorker Hotel
New York Insurance Ce
Yes. Our New York state approval number is: NYPO- 100425.
Most students will have their credits processed the same day on whichthey complete their final exam. If a course is completed outside of our normal business hours, these credits will be processed on the morning of the next business day. Once your credits have been successfully filed, you will receive a notification email that also contains your Certificate of Completion.
The New York Department of Insurance has waived their normal proctor requirement, until further notice. A licensed monitor is no longer required to be present during your exam. You will instead need to electronically sign an Affidavit of Personal Responsibility, and that affidavit will be completed online as part of your final exam.
Self-study final exams are closed book. Licensees may not refer to the course material while the exam is in progress.
The final exam must be passed with a score of 70 percent or higher to receive credit. Students have unlimited attempts to pass the exam.
No. There are no processing fees in this state.
No. You may spend as much time with the course material as you feel necessary, and you may come and go from that material as often as you like.There is no time limit on our exams, however all exams must be completed within one sitting. Once started, if an exam is abandoned for any reason you will need to begin that exam from the beginning when you next return.
Producers single license type
Flood Insurance Training
New York Business License + Insurance Info
One term that has popped up a few times in this guide is a Certificate of Insurance. This is simply proof that your company has general liability coverage. Business insurance could help offset costs from accidents, third-party damage, and more. Having a specific amount of coverage might be required to get some business licenses in New York.
Even in cases without an insurance mandate, its a good idea to protect your business. Having a policy can help when renting business space and in building trust with potential customers. Not to mention how your policy could shield your business finances if you were to get sued.
If you dont have business insurance yet, dont worry. If you have a few minutes, you can use our free quote comparison tool to get custom quotes from top insurers.
Its that simple!
Read Also: How To See Niagara Falls From New York
Adjusters Who Hold The New York Series 17
Part of the reason for this is that the process for obtaining a license in New York, compared to other states, iswellkind of a hassle. A hassle that some adjusters choose not to bother themselves with. The only way to get a license in New York is to take their exam and to jump through their application process hoops. Those who do choose to take on this challenge can become always-in-demand superstars sought out by Independent Adjusting Firms. So, it is worth it and with AE21 on your side to equip you, it is definitely attainable.
So here is a breakdown of what you need to do to get a 17-70 General Independent Adjuster License in New York.
Step 1: Meet the requirements.
- Be 18 years of age or older.
- Be trustworthy and competent
- Have never been convicted of felony or any crime or offense involving fraudulent or dishonest practices
Step 2: Prepare for, register for and pass the NY state exam.
AE21s prep course will help remove the anxiety of taking the exam. Our practice exams contained within the course can be taken over and over with a new random shuffle of questions until you are consistently achieving a high score. You will know when you are ready to take on the official exam and can be confident in your ability to pass.
Once you feel ready. Youll need to sign up to take the exam.
As of March 2019, PSI Exams Online became the testing provider for New York. You will need to create an account on their website and pay the $33 fee.