Vehicles Purchased Or Received As A Gift From Another Person
If you buy a vehicle, a boat, an ATV, or a snowmobile from another person who is not a DMV-licensed automobile dealer or receive it as a gift, make sure that you receive acceptable proof of ownership.
Proof of ownership normally includes a bill of sale. The DMV does not provide a form for a bill of sale. The seller and the buyer complete the bill of sale. If the vehicle is transferred as a gift, indicate this on the bill of sale and indicate that the purchase price is $0. You must also complete a Statement of Transaction- Sale or Gift of Motor Vehicle, Trailer, All-Terrain Vehicle , Vessel , or Snowmobile and indicate on the form that the vehicle is a gift.
An acceptable bill of sale includes all of this information
- the year and make of the vehicle, boat or ATV
- the vehicle identification number or the hull identification number
- the date of the sale
- the purchase price of the vehicle or the boat
- the names and signatures of the buyer and the seller
The buyer and seller can make photocopies of the bill of sale to keep for their records. The new owner must go to the DMV with the acceptable proof of ownership and a bill of sale. A bill of sale alone is not acceptable as proof of ownership without a title or transferable registration
How To Sell A Car With A Lien & New York’s Laws
To remove a lien, you first have to pay the amount owed. Once that happens, you’ll need to clear the lien off your title to prepare it for a new buyer. New York State has a series of steps that need to be followed to accomplish this.
You also can sell a car with the lien still attached and leave it up to the new owner to file the paperwork. However, the new owner then risks having the lien transferred to his title. Here are the steps you’ll need to take to get rid of the lien and successfully transfer the title to the new owner.
Video of the Day
Surrendering Vehicle Plates By Mail:
You can send the vehicle plates to the DMV from any location. There is no fee to surrender your vehicle plates If you surrender the plates by mail to a county motor vehicle office instead of a state DMV office, you must enclose a $1 processing fee.
When you surrender vehicle plates by mail, the DMV considers the postmark date as the date that you surrendered your vehicle plates. Make sure that you include your current mailing address. The DMV will mail your FS-6T receipt to you. To be notified by the US Postal Service that your vehicle plates were received, send them by registered or certified mail, and request a return receipt. Remove frames and fasteners before you surrender a vehicle plate or vehicle plates. The DMV office will not accept a vehicle plate with a frame or any fasteners attached.
Send your vehicle plates and other information to:
Department of Motor Vehicles
Medford, NY 11763
Read Also: New York Times Book Review Submissions
What Can I Do With An Undrivable Car And When Trying To Sell Your Car In New York
Most dealers arent as interested in non-running cars. You may want to sell your car to a business that specializes in less-than-perfect vehicles. If youre wondering Where to trade in my car?, this may be the best way to get the cash-value offer you need to get the most out of a junk car. New York Cash For Cars is in the market to buy totaled & non-running cars, and we make it as simple as possible for our customers to sell to us. No research, no repairs, no paying for tow trucks: we make it easy to get a cash-value offer so you can get the car off your hands quickly.
How do I sell my car in New York?
Make Decisions When Buying A Car Out
Your first decision when buying a car out-of-state from a dealer is whether you want a used vehicle or a new vehicle. If you’re looking for a hard-to-find new model or a vintage vehicle, you may need to be willing to take a long-distance road trip to find the car you want.
If you plan to trade in your vehicle, think about how you will get it to the dealer. Transportation can be a hassle but the dealership may work with you on getting your trade-in vehicle to their location. In some cases, the dealership may have a partnership or dealer located in a neighboring state and you will not have to transport your trade into their location directly.
Read Also: How To Change Your Name In New York State
Refund Option : Registration Receipt
If you are not eligible for a refund or you request a transfer receipt, the DMV office issues an FS-6T receipt that you can use to transfer the registration to another vehicle.
Follow these procedures to apply for a refund if the registrant has died or the name of the registrant has changed and the second year of the registration has not started:
- Surrender the vehicle plates at the DMV office and request a transfer receipt, not a refund receipt.
- Get form MV-215 . Complete form MV-215. Send the form and the transfer receipt to the address on the form, and include the other documents indicated below.
- If the registrant has died, the executor of the will signs form MV-215 and writes deceased on the form. The executor sends the form, a of the death certificate, and the transfer receipt to the address on the form. A refund is issued in the name of the estate.
- If the estate of the registrant is settled, call the DMV Revenue Accounting Unit at 518-474-0902 to request a Next of Kin form. Send this form, form MV-215 and the transfer receipt. The refund is issued in the name of the next of kin.
- If the name of the registrant has changed, send form MV-215, the transfer receipt, and a photocopy of the marriage certificate, the divorce documents or other court papers that prove the name has changed. The refund is issued in your new name.
Easy Steps To Register A Car In Ny
One of the inescapable facts of car ownership is that it always involves a certain amount of admin. You need a license, you need insurance and you need to make sure everything is in order and up to date or you could end up having a brush with the law.
One important aspect of this is making sure you jump through all the necessary hoops when buying a new car or even taking your existing car to a new state if you move. However, each state is different, so heres the info you need about how to register a car in NY.
Recommended Reading: How To Delete Nytimes Account
Should You Drive Your New Car Home Or Hire A Transport Company
Are you going to drive your new car home or arrange for transportation? If you’re going to drive it across state lines, confirm with your car insurance company that you have the right coverage for your new vehicle’s first trip. You will likely need proof of the new title, the bill of sale, and temporary registration. Make sure you travel with your proof of insurance and driver’s license when driving back to your home state.
Your vehicle may also need to meet specific emissions requirements known as a smog test for your home state. Many states give you a grace period to drive the vehicle using temporary tags while you arrange to have it registered and emission-tested. Ask whether the dealer issues temporary license plates or temporary transit permits for driving the car out of state.
Your state’s sales tax depends on the state in which you live, not the state in which you buy the car. You pay the sales tax when you register your vehicle in your home state with your local department of motor vehicles . However, if you purchase your out-of-state vehicle in California, and plan to drive the car from the dealership, you must pay California’s sales tax. You don’t pay California’s sales tax if you ship the vehicle from the dealership to your out-of-state destination. Other states may have similar requirements, so ask your state’s DMV before making your transportation plans.
Odometer And Damage Disclosure
The seller is required by New York state law to provide the mileage and condition of the vehicle. If the current title of the vehicle being sold does not have an area to disclose this information, you may use New York DMV form MV 103. For motor vehicles which are 10 model years old or newer, the seller must complete the odometer disclosure statement on the back of the title certificate. For vehicles older than 10 model years, odometer disclosure is not required. The Damage Disclosure Statement on the back of the New York title must be completed for all vehicles regardless of the vehicle’s age.
You May Like: How To Submit Poetry To New York Times Magazine
How To Sign Your New York Car Title
We have put together a simple guide and example for how to sign your New York title when you are selling your vehicle. If there are multiple owners listed on the title, they must all sign the title unless the names are separated with “OR”.
Are You Interested In Learning More
We work with several New York residents. If youd like to learn more and obtain a no-hassle quote for your vehicle, call one of our customer service representatives at 855-922-3095 or complete our online form. If you decide to move forward with the process, remember that we offer to tow your vehicle at absolutely NO cost to you, and we can get cash in your hands often within 24-hours. We look forward to hearing from you.
Don’t Miss: Where Is The Wax Museum In New York
S For Completing An Out
Motorists will be required to perform a new state resident car title transfer process in New York when they move to an NY residence from out of state. The following steps to complete an out of state title transfer as a new resident must be satisfied:
- Obtain car insurance for the motor vehicle
- Submit the required documentation at the NY DMV
- Obtain documents from the DMV
- Conduct a safety inspection on the motor vehicle
- Submit payment for the applicable fees and taxes
After performing an out of state title transfer in person at a local NY DMV office, motorists may also be required to conduct additional steps, depending on their specific situation. For example, individuals who have received a car as a gift will need to provide additional information about how they obtained the vehicle. You will not be permitted to complete a title transfer online, so be sure to plan your visit to the NY DMV accordingly.
Receive The Necessary Documents From The Dmv
After you drop off the required documents at the local DMV office, you will then be given the documents you need. Alternatively, you may receive them by post within around two weeks. They include the following:
- 1 or 2 vehicle plates
- Registration window sticker
- Registration document
- 10-day inspection extension sticker
If you are transferring registration from another vehicle registered in New York, you wont receive the registration plates.
The 10-day inspection extension sticker is only issued if you didnt buy the vehicle from an authorized NY State auto dealer and gives you 10 days to have the vehicle inspected.
If necessary, you will also receive a new title certificate within 90 days.
You May Like: Wax Museum In Times Square
How To Sell A Car In New York What About Liens
For a vehicle with a lien on it, you must give the new owner the original document from the lien holder that states there is no longer a lien on it. Be sure to keep a copy of this document. The new owner should give the original proof to the DMV. The DMV will then remove the lien when the new title certificate is issued.
Where Can I Get A New York Bill Of Sale Template
Any private individual can draft a bill of sale, or you can use PandaDocs templates that also allow you to collect digital signatures. New York does not require notarization for bills of sale unless they have been translated, but the signature of a notary public may be helpful in case anyone disputes the documents validity.
New York Documentation Fees
Dealerships may also charge a documentation fee or “doc fee”, which covers the costs incurred by the dealership preparing and filing the sales contract, sales tax documents, etc. These fees are separate from the taxes and DMV fees listed above.
The average doc fee in New York is $751, andNew York law caps dealer’s doc fees at 1.Because these fees are set by the dealerships and not the government, they can vary dealership to dealership or even vehicle to vehicle.
1 – Average DMV and Documentation Fees for New York calculated by Edmunds.com
How To Sell Without A Ny Title
You may complete a transaction without a NY vehicle title if the vehicle is model year 1972 or older. Vehicles, vessels, snowmobiles, and ATV that do not have a title require additional documents to prove ownership.
If a driver is buying an older vehicle that was manufactured before 1972 , the seller can fill out a Certificate/Affidavit of Sale or Transfer .
The seller can also use a bill of sale and a Certification of NYS Registration for Transfer of Non-Titled Vehicle . This form is available at your local DMV office and requires the seller to bring proof of identity specific for registrations and titles.
If you require more help, call Title Services at 486-4714.
Recommended Reading: Wax Museum New York City
Option 3 Vehicle Registration In Your Name But
You can transfer a registration to another vehicle that is in your name and not renew the current registration. Bring the transfer receipt and the registration for the other vehicle to a DMV office. Tell the DMV office that you will transfer the registration but will not renew the registration.
Remember this important information:
- The new registration expires on the same date as the original registration.
- There is a fee of $7.75 to transfer a registration.
- There can be a pro-rated registration fee if the vehicle that you register weighs more than the previous vehicle.
- You cannot transfer a registration to a vehicle to be registered in the name of another person.
- You cannot use the transfer receipt to reduce another registration fee or receive a refund.
- You cannot request a refund if the second year of the registration has started when you surrender the vehicle plates.
Option 2 Surrender To The Dmv
You can surrender the vehicle plates to the DMV, receive a transfer receipt, and transfer the registration in the future. Bring the receipt and the required documents to a DMV office. Use the instructions to register a vehicle. The registration you transfer will have the same expiration date as the original registration. For example, if the original registration expired on December 31, the registration you transfer to another vehicle will also expire on December 31.
If you plan to transfer a registration in the future, make sure that you surrender the vehicle plates and receive a transfer receipt before you cancel the liability insurance on the previous vehicle. See the information about liability insurance.
You May Like: How To Win The New York Lottery
We Buy Junk Cars In New York Heres How Much You Can Expect
We buy junk cars in New York, and virtually every junker that comes our way is accepted as long as itâs a complete vehicle. However, we do separate our junk cars into three separate groups when we figure out how much to offer you.
Cars that Havenât Moved in Years
If you can see the pavement through your carâs floor, then it likely belongs in our first category. These clunkers will probably be recycled by New York junk car buyers and junk yards for raw materials, so size and weight of the vehicle will determine the price. For these Flintstone-like rides, you might expect a $35 to $165 payment from us before we take it to an auto salvage yard.
Those âIn-betweenersâ With Salvageable Parts
However, if your car isnât entirely rusted out, then it might be what we call an âin-betweener.â These clunkers might still be drivable, but they at least have some parts we can sell off. However, we wonât know exact pricing until we get more info on your exact vehicle.
The Not-Exactly-Junkers That You Can Drive to the Store and Back
Are you still driving around your junker to do grocery runs at Wegmans? Then you probably have what we refer to as a âThis car isnât junk!â type of ride. Because of these carsâ could be driven off a used car lot, these can be worth anywhere from $200 to $10,000.