Sunday, October 24, 2021

How To Get A Boating License In New York

How Much Does A Captains License Course Cost

How to get a New York State Dealers License

The most popular captain’s license course, the OUPV/Six-pack course, costs $595 for a deluxe edition including online and physical materials through Mariners Learning System. The Deluxe Master Captain’s License course costs $795. For just the digital edition, the OUPV course costs $495, and the Digital Master course costs $695. The auxiliary sailing and assistance towing endorsements both cost $125 for the deluxe edition and $100 for the digital-only edition.

We recommend the deluxe editions of our courses because in addition to the digital access, you also get hard-copy workbooks, a navigator’s tool set, and a practice chart. This represents a turnkey solution that includes everything you need right down to your pencils and eraser. It’s like Prego spaghetti sauceit’s all in there!

New York Boating License Requirements

The minimum boating license age for personal watercraft in New York is 14 years of age. Overall, motorboat operators who were born on May 1, 1996 or after are required to obtain licensure.

Permits are provided in the form of safety certificates administered by the state. Some drivers are exempt from this requirement, such as residents with certificates from the United States Coast Guard, U.S. Power Squadron or U.S. Powerboating.

Save On Boat Insurance

Weve partnered with Global Marine Insurance to bring you a fast, convenient way to protect your investment and hit the water with peace of mind. Global Marines boat insurance experts work with the major insurance carriers to find you the coverage you need at the best rates, it couldnt be easier. Get your quote and start saving today!

Also Check: How Much Is A Flight To Italy From New York

New Jersey Boat License Requirements

The minimum boating license age in New Jersey for applicants to obtain a safety certificate is 13 years of age. Thus, all motorists who are 13 years of age or older must obtain the certificate in order to operate a motorized vessel on bodies of waters in the state.

On the other hand, the age requirements are different for applicants to obtain a license endorsement. To get an initial motorboat or jet ski license endorsement, residents must be at least 16 years of age.

Note: The only boat license requirements that must be met in order to get a certificate or license is the completion of an approved safety course and the submission of a payment method for the applicable fees.

Getting A Boating License In New York

New York Boating Laws and Regulations

In order to obtain NY boater education cards, motorists must complete a specific safety course in the state. Thus, students must pass all required elements of the course in order to be granted boating privileges. Both online and classroom courses are available. Drivers can complete the following steps to receive boating license certification in the state:

  • Enroll in an online or in-person class through the state licensing agency. A variety of third-party organizations also offer courses. However, programs must be state-approved in order to be acceptable.
  • Study all of the materials provided during the class, including the New York boaters guide, which will prepare you for the final examination.
  • Take the boat card test after finishing the required hours of in-person or online instruction.
  • Pay all applicable fees using an acceptable payment method.
  • Don’t Miss: How Much Do Dentists Make In New York

    Age And Operator Restrictions

    A person at least 10 years old may operate a recreational boat only if only if you meet the requirement to have a Boating Safety Certificate as shown in the table.

    • If you are required to have a Boating Safety Certificate, you must carry it on board the vessel.
    • All persons operating a motorized vessel must have a Boating Safety Certificate by January 1, 2025.

    A person at least 14 years old may operate a PWC only if he or she:

    • Has passed a boating safety course approved by the New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation and
    • Carries the State Boating Safety Certificate on board the PWC.

    No person under the age of 14 may operate a PWC.

    New York Safe Boating Online Programs

    Why did NYS Parks go to an online program?It was both the legislature’s and governor’s intention in passing the 2013 legislation that the public have access to the latest technologies in learning when meeting the State’s boater education requirements. There are boaters who could not make a traditional classroom course for several reasons and the online programs can meet those boater’s needs.

    I have found a variety of on-line boating courses. Does NYS recognize all these courses?Although there are several on-line providers of “boating education”, only those listed on the Parks webpage are acceptable in meeting the State’s boater education requirements.

    Can I trade my on-line certificate for a New York boating certificate?No, there will not be a trade-in program of an on-line certificate for Park’s issued certificate. The online certificates are of similar design to the state issued certificate so that law enforcement officers are not confused.

    Can I apply for the Adventure License program?Students successfully completing the on-line course are also eligible to apply for the Adventure License.

    I took an online class and I’ve lost my boating safety certificate. Can NYS Parks issue me a replacement certificate?Duplicate certificates and any problems with the on-line courses will be handled by the online provider. On-line support and a phone number can be found at the course provider’s website.

    Recommended Reading: Where To Stay In New York

    New State Archery Range Opens

    The Saratoga Sand Plains Archery Range is now open.

    The range, located in the Town of Wilton in Saratoga County, will provide recreational opportunities for bow hunters and archers, from novice to expert.

    This is the Department of Environmental Conservations first-ever archery range. The 50-yard range has 16 targets, including eight adult lanes from 15 to 50 yards four youth lanes from five to 20 yards, and four elevated ranges up to 40 yards simulating tree stand shots.

    The range will be open year-round. Information is available on the DEC website at www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/24418.html.

    How To Obtain A Boating License In New York

    BoatUSFoundation free online boating safety course

    A New York boating license is needed for all drivers who wish to operate motorized types of watercraft in the state. Policies concerning this credential are set in place to ensure that residents are safely navigating public waterways. Overall, motorists wondering how to get a boating license can apply to attach this designation to their existing drivers licenses.

    When boaters successfully complete the application steps for a NY boat certification, they are awarded the privilege to operate these vessels. Necessary fees should also be paid for each permit request submitted. If licenses are lost or stolen, duplicate cards must be obtained. Continue reading to learn more about receiving boating licenses in New York.

    Don’t Miss: How Much Does A Cremation Cost In New York

    New York Boater Education Card Requirements

    Anyone who operates a motor boat and who was born on or after . You must complete a New York approved boater safety course to get your certificate. All PWC Personal Watercraft operators must hold a New York State Parks approved boating certificate. The law will be phased in over the next 5 years:

    If you were born on or after: You will need a boating safety certificate as of:

    All operators of motorized vessels, regardless of age, will need a boating card by January 1, 2025.

    How To Get A Jet Ski License Online

    Here are step-by-step instructions for getting a jet ski license online:

    • Select Your State: Choose the appropriate state and sign up for free. Boat-Ed developed printed materials for the U.S. Coast Guards boating license safety course and developed online boating safety courses that have been recognized and approved in over 40 states, as well as Canadas boating safety agencies.

    • Take the Course Online: You can take the boating safety course on your computer, smartphone or tablet. The curriculum is fun, which makes it easier to learn boating safety.

    • Obtain Your Boating License: Once you pass the course, youll be that much closer to being able to take your jet ski out on the water. When youve successfully met all the educational requirements, your certificate or boater education card will arrive by mail.

    Don’t Miss: How Much Is A Vacation To New York

    New York Boating Laws And Regulations

    NEW YORK BOATER EDUCATION CARD

    A New York Boater Education Card is not the same thing as a drivers licence. The Boater Education Card, more commonly known as a boating license is a card that proves that you have taken an approved Boating Safety Course. In New York, a Boater Education Card is required for all boaters born on or after May 1, 1996. However, its a good idea for ALL boaters to receive a Boating Safety Education to help keep New Yorks waters a safe place for everyone enjoying them.

    Briannas Law In effect as of January 1st, 2020

    Briannas Law comes into effect on .

    If you were born on or after you will need a boating safety certificate when operating a motorized vessel, starting in 2020.

    If you were born on or after you will need a boating safety certificate when operating a motorized vessel, starting in 2022.

    If you were born on or after you will need a boating safety certificate when operating a motorized vessel, starting in 2023.

    If you were born on or after you will need a boating safety certificate when operating a motorized vessel, starting in 2024.

    All operators of motorized vessels, regardless of age, will need a boating safety certificate by January 1, 2025.

    Under the previous law, owners of new boats had a 120-day grace period from the date of purchase to obtain a safe boating certificate. This accommodation has been eliminated under Briannas Law.

    If you have any questions regarding these changes, please contact us:

    New Jersey Boater Safety Courses

    Form MV

    There are several New Jersey boating school options that you may choose from. To find a course approved by the State Police in your area, you may reach out to local marinas or boating supply stores.

    In general, you can either take a class offered in person or complete an online boaters safety course. Overall, any course that is approved by the NJSP can be completed in order to obtain a safety certificate.

    Note: If you opt to complete an online course, you must pass a proctored exam in person after you finish the online portion. Thus, make sure that the online course provider you opt for has a testing location within driving distance from you before you begin the course.

    Read Also: How To Pay A Ticket Online New York

    Need To Take A Ny Boating Safety Course This Year What You Need To Know

    Need to take a New York State-approved boater safety course?

    Last year a new state law took effect, mandating that all motor boat operators, regardless of age, will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2025. The legislation includes a five-year, phase in plan.

    Both online and in-classroom boater safety courses are currently available, according to Brian Nearing, a spokesman for the state Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation, which oversees the courses. Last year, the vast majority of courses taken were online. That trend will undoubtedly continue this coming year.

    As for in-classroom safe boating courses, they may now resume in counties that are in Phase 4 re-opening, according to the Parks website. Contact the instructor listed to confirm if the course you are interested in attending is still being offered. Students must wear face coverings during courses whenever social distancing cannot be maintained.

    The legislation, called Briannas Law was signed into law in 2019 and took effect Jan. 1, 2020. Prior passage of this law, only boaters born on or after May 1, 1996 were required to complete a boater safety course.

    Briannas Law expanded that requirement. Under the 5-year phase-in plan:

    *All motor boat operators born on or after Jan. 1, 1993 needed a boating safety certificate beginning in 2020

    *Those born on or after Jan. 1, 1988 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2022

    More Upstate NY Outdoors

    Jet Ski License: Where Is It Required And How To Get One

    Jet ski license is something most water sport enthusiasts, especially first-time buyers know very little about, which isnt at all surprising.

    We at JetDrift have created this guide for you so that you can determine whether you need to get a jet ski license and if so, how and where to get it.

    Also dont miss to discover the owning costs you will have to count in addition to the purchase price!

    Read Also: Must Go Places In New York

    Do You Need A Boater Card In New York

    As of January 1, 2020, New York will begin a phase-in-by-age law that will require a new age group to become certified each year, requiring all motorized boat and PWC operators to pass a boater safety course and to carry a New York boater card by January 1, 2025. All motorized boat operators born on or after January 1, 1993, will be required to carry the New York boater card by January 1, 2020.

    New York Boat Registration Basics

    Free Boating Safety Course Registration Tutorial

    Owners of NY water vessels must obtain a valid boat registration and title certificate. Boat title and registration documents are only needed for certain types of watercraft, however. The following types of boats are exempt from registration rules:

  • Lifeboats
  • Boats registered in another state and used in NY for less than 90 days
  • S. or foreign commercial boats with valid documentation
  • Boats used for racing competitions
  • Drivers are required to submit specific items to receive valid title and registration documents. The following documents are needed:

    • Boat registration and title application
    • Proof of boat ownership
    • Valid proof of identity
    • Bill of sale, if watercraft is purchased from any NY dealer

    Additionally, boat registration stickers are only provided when applicants pay the required associated fees. Cash, check, money order and credit or debit cards are accepted.

    Also Check: Where Is Warwick New York

    New York Boating Rules And Regulations

    Specific boating regulations apply to drivers of water vessels in the state. These rules are enforced to ensure boaters are utilizing safe boating practices on the water. Additionally, boat requirements are established to protect swimmers and preserve natural areas.

  • Children who are 12 years of age and younger must wear lifejackets at all times.
  • Sports enthusiasts who are towed by a boat when waterskiing, tubing and wakeboarding must wear a lifejacket.
  • All vessels 16 feet and under should carry approved visual distress signals in case of emergency.
  • All mechanically-propelled boats should carry an approved fire extinguisher and anchor on board.
  • All water vessels 39 feet and above in length must be equipped with a whistle or horn and bell.
  • How Do I Get A Uscg Captains License

    You can get a USCG captains license through Mariners Learning System by taking our U.S. Coast Guard-approved course and then completing your Coast Guard boating exam at one of our testing centers. Our courses are structured for those pursuing a professional career in commercial boating operations and for recreational boaters looking to increase their knowledge.

    Also Check: How To Become A Journeyman Electrician In New York

    New York State Requires Certain Boat Operators To Have A Boating Safety Certificate

    New York State provides boating safety certificates to those individuals who successfully complete a New York State Safe Boating Classroom Course. New York State also recognizes the safety certificates issued by the United States Coast Guard Auxiliary, the US Power Squadron and the US Powerboating. Boating Safety Certificates from several online course providers are approved for New York State residents, such as BoatUS Foundation .

    How To Get A Boating License

    Getting Your Boat License Renewal

    Each state determines the requirements for operating a powerboat, sailboat or personal watercraft on the waters in its jurisdiction , and most require some sort of boating safety and education certificate, which may be called a boating license. In most cases the boat license course can be completed online, and is followed by a boat license test that is also completed online. The boating safety certificate courses are not as comprehensive as those for an automobile drivers license theres usually no on-water drivers education required, for example.

    Follow these simple steps to get your boating license:

  • Research the boater education requirements for your state.
  • Complete an online, or in-person, boating safety and education course.
  • Successfully pass the boating license test at the end of the course.
  • Submit payment after course completion.
  • Keep your boat license or completion certificate with you whenever you’re out on the water.
  • You May Like: How Do I Cancel My New York Life Insurance Policy

    Preparing For The Exam

  • 1Learn boat safety. Parts of the boating exam will test how much you know about boating safety. These topics will allow you to demonstrate that you can keep your boat in working order, make sure you are prepared for emergencies, and ensure that you can operate your boat correctly. Expect some of these questions to appear on the test:XResearch source
  • Where should you place a fire extinguisher on your boat?
  • What should you do in case of a fire?
  • Which boats are most likely to capsize?
  • 2Learn the best boating practices. There are many rules and practices that you and other boaters should be aware of. These rules will help make sure everyone is kept safe while boating, preventing any needless accidents from occurring. You can expect to find questions like these on the exam:XResearch source
  • What should a power boat approaching a sail boat in darkness do?
  • Which direction does bad weather usually approach from?
  • What side of your boat should you pass red markers on?
  • What area is indicated by red and green buoys?
  • Which side of the boat is the port side?
  • 3Learn personal safety. Although boating is a lot of fun, it can also present some dangers. It’s important that you know how to keep you and your friends safe while out on the water. You will likely see some questions that are similar to these on the test:XResearch source
  • What are the symptoms of carbon monoxide poisoning?
  • What are the symptoms of hypothermia?
  • How can you help someone recover from hypothermia?
  • Latest news
    Related news