Wednesday, September 28, 2022

How To Sell A Car Privately In New York State

Buying Used From A Dealer

I-Team Investigates How The Texas DMV Is Selling Drivers’ Personal Information

Although you might pay a little more than if you buy from a private seller, you’re a lot safer buying a used vehicle from a trained and licensed auto dealer.

Dealers must inspect and repair the used vehicles they sell, so you’re less likely to have to make repairs as soon as you drive off the lot, and sometimes the dealer will even offer a warranty on a used vehicle. A dealer is also required to disclose whether the car you’re looking at has ever been salvaged, and they will take care of all the paperwork needed for transferring the title to you, getting the vehicle registered, and obtaining license plates.

On the other hand, you might pay a little more for the convenience and peace of mind that come from buying from a dealer. Check out the exact model of car on the Kelley Blue Book or National Auto Dealers Association websites. Both offer free price quotes that are designed to reflect the market in your area, and they give both retail and private-party pricing.

How To Sell Gift Transfer Vehicles In Ny

Getting Started

The first step to getting rid of an auto that you have no use for is to ensure that all of your papers are in order. In other words: You cant sign the title over if you dont have the title. The easiest way to get a duplicate title in NY is to skip the line at the DMV by going online to the NY DMV website, enter your vehicle info, and then mail in an application for duplicate title, some proof of identity, and twenty bucks. Registering a motorcycle, on the other hand, will cost you about $62.50, in total. $50 for your initial title fee, and $12.50 for your plate fee.

Finding A New Owner

Finding a buyer in NY isnt tough. Theres plenty of people here looking for cars and motorcycles, and you can find someone easily enough with an ad through Craigslist or just asking around to see who needs a set of wheels.

Transferring Ownership

To transfer ownership, you will need to either surrender your plates to the New York State DMV, or transfer them over to the new owner. Surrendering your plates might earn you a refund on the registration fee, depending on a number of factors. You can transfer your plates for $7.75 through the DMV, or get a transfer receipt to transfer in the future.Form DTF-802 from the DMV will let you sign your car or bike over to the new owner. You fill out page two, and then give them the form to fill out page one. You use the same form whether youre selling the auto or handing it over as a gift.

Getting A New Vehicle?

Understanding Taxes When Buying And Selling A Car

When it comes to buying and selling a car, cutting out the middleman has plenty of perks. Buying a car from a private seller will usually result in a lower price tag. Selling one yourself will net you more money than what youd get for a trade-inbut buying or selling from a dealership also has its conveniences, such as getting help in figuring out any necessary tax payments.

The laws on taxes for private party used-car sales vary by situation and by state, and in some cases, even by city. It may seem hard to understand, but it’s not an insurmountable task.

You May Like: Italian Consulate Renew Passport

Option 3 Vehicle Registration In Your Name But

You can transfer a registration to another vehicle that is in your name and not renew the current registration. Bring the transfer receipt and the registration for the other vehicle to a DMV office. Tell the DMV office that you will transfer the registration but will not renew the registration.

Remember this important information:

  • The new registration expires on the same date as the original registration.
  • There is a fee of $7.75 to transfer a registration.
  • There can be a pro-rated registration fee if the vehicle that you register weighs more than the previous vehicle.
  • You cannot transfer a registration to a vehicle to be registered in the name of another person.
  • You cannot use the transfer receipt to reduce another registration fee or receive a refund.
  • You cannot request a refund if the second year of the registration has started when you surrender the vehicle plates.

Temporary Surrender Of Vehicle Plates

Closings Underway at 99 Hudson Street in Jersey City

Temporary surrender of vehicle plates

You can surrender your vehicle plates and reinstate the registration later. For example, you can surrender your vehicle plates and cancel liability insurance when you take your vehicle off the road for the Winter.

Remove frames and fasteners before you surrender a vehicle plate or vehicle plates. The DMV office will not accept a vehicle plate with a frame or any fasteners attached.

When you surrender your vehicle plates, request a receipt for transfer. Do not request a registration fee refund receipt.

The DMV does not store standard vehicle plates. If you surrender standard vehicle plates, they will be destroyed. You can apply for reinstatement of the registration at any DMV office that processes registration transactions. The DMV office will issue a new set of vehicle plates and can charge a vehicle plate fee of up to $15.00.

If you surrender personalized plates or custom plates, the DMV office will store your vehicle plates. You must apply for the reinstatement of the registration at the same DMV office where you surrendered your personalized plates or custom plates.

To apply for reinstatement of your registration and receive vehicle plates, bring the following items to the DMV office:

  • completed form MV-82 ,
  • the receipt you received when you surrendered your vehicle plates,
  • an Insurance Identification Card that shows current insurance coverage,
  • your proof of identity and date of birth,
  • a check or cash for any fees.

You May Like: Can I Register A Car Online In Ny

What About Vehicle Plates And Stickers

You want to stay away from penalties. S, be sure to , remove your vehicle plates, and your windshield registration sticker. Don’t forget to take off the inspection sticker too. You should not allow the new owner to use your vehicle plates or stickers.

Be sure to take your vehicle plates to a NY DMV office. You can also transfer your vehicle plates to another vehicle. But you just cannot keep your plates .If you choose to do so, NY can suspend your driver license for a lapse in your liability insurance, and you decide not to transfer the vehicle plates or surrender them.

What Paperwork Do You Need To Sell Your Car In New York

First things first, what paperwork do you need to sell your vehicle? The following are required to be provided by the seller:

  • Proof of ownership – AKA the title of your vehicle with your signature on the transfer ownership section of the certificate
  • A signed bill of sale – this document details the terms of the sale of a vehicle between a seller and buyer
  • The Odometer and Damage Disclosure Statement
  • Original paperwork from the lien holder that proves the lien has been paid in full

All of these documents must be provided to sell your vehicle around Gardiner. This can be a hassle, but luckily for you, we can make this process much easier at our dealership. When you sell your vehicle to us, we can help you go over these documents and compile them for easy use.

Also Check: Pay Tvb Ticket

To Request A Duplicate Car Title By Mail

Send these items to the DMV:

  • your proof of identity NY DMV allows for a photocopy of your NY State Driver License, Learner Permit, or Non-Driver ID for other acceptable proof)
  • payment $20.00 payable to Commissioner of Motor Vehicles

Standard mail address:

At a NY DMV office locating Bring the following to your local DMV office for your duplicate car title:

  • The $20 for the payment of a duplicate car title
  • ID

Make Sure You Have The Latest Issued Title Document

Abandoned Boats Pile Up In Staten Island Harbor

This information is also available on the DMV website. Sometimes an owner will misplace the title and order a duplicate. That duplicate is now the only valid title. The owner may later find the original title and sell you the car with that. But that title is no longer valid, and youre stuck with it. Again, another headache for you.

Don’t Miss: Multi State Toll Calculator

You Still Have To Pay Your States Sales Taxes

It can be tempting to try to buy a car in a state with no sales tax, like New Hampshire, then transport it back to your home state. However, you will need to pay sales tax in your state of residence.

If you bought a car from a dealership, they will likely collect sales tax and pass it along to the proper agency in your state. You may also have to pay any applicable local sales taxes.

If youre buying a used car from a private party, you may have to pay taxes on the transaction price when its registered. Its best to ask the DMV representative.

Proof Of Purchase Price Or Gift

Use form DTF-802 to show the purchase price of the vehicle or that the vehicle is a gift. The seller or donor completes the affidavit on page two of the form and gives the form to the new owner. The new owner completes the first page of the form and gives the form to the DMV office. The DMV office collects the sales tax from the new owner if the new owner is required to pay any sales tax. If the new owner applies for an exemption from NYS sales tax for a reason different from a gift, use form DTF-803 . You can see the current sales tax rates by jurisdiction at the Department of Taxation and Finance web site.

Read Also: The Wax Museum In Manhattan

Buying Used From A Private Individual

Buying a used vehicle from a private party can carry more risk than buying from a dealer because a private seller doesn’t have to follow the same regulations and rarely offers a warranty. If you buy a defective vehicle in a private sale, there is no one to complain to, so you are on your own.

Having said that, if you take a few precautions and ask the right questions, you can pay less than retail for the car you want.

Vehicles Purchased From Dealers

Free Vehicle (Private Sale) Receipt Template

A DMV-licensed automobile dealer must have acceptable proof of ownership for a vehicle before they can sell that vehicle to you. Most NY State automobile dealers send the application for a vehicle registration and title certificate to the DMV. The dealer can charge a fee of $175 for this service.

The proof of ownership for a new vehicle is either

  • the Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin
  • the Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin and form MV-50

The proof of ownership for a used vehicle is both

  • the title certificate that the previous owner signed to transfer the ownership to the dealer
  • ‘Retail Certificate of Sale’ that the dealer signs to transfer ownership to you

If you cannot get acceptable proof of ownership from a NY State dealer, learn how to file a complaint.

Don’t Miss: How To Delete New York Times Account

Vehicle Registration And Renewal In New York

Whether youre planning a move to New York State, are a New Yorker who just bought a new car, or are simply wondering how to renew your New York registration, theres a few steps that youll need to take care of. Luckily, the state of New York makes registering your car a fairly easy process the answers to just about every question you may have about New York vehicle registration can be found on the New York DMV webpage. Heres a few things youll need to be mindful of.

S To Buying A Car Out Of State

First, obtain a vehicle history report for the car you plan to purchase. This report will provide information about red flags that will either keep you from buying the car or affect your negotiations. For example, if the car title has liens, these should be satisfied before you try to transport the vehicle back to your home state. Otherwise, you may be legally responsible for those liens according to The Balance.

Have a thorough inspection done by a mechanic before buying a used car out-of-state. Opt for an independent professional rather than a person who is recommended or employed by the dealership. If the car is several states away and you cannot travel there, you may ask a local mechanic to act in your absence.

After you get the vehicle back to your home state, you must pay sales tax on the vehicle. A local dealer you trust, your tax professional, or your local department of motor vehicles can typically provide guidance on this issue.

Your state’s department of motor vehicles can also provide information on the required inspection tests for your new car. Depending on state laws, this may include odometer, emissions, and/or safety testing. After your vehicle has been inspected, visit the DMV with the inspection certification, your sales paperwork, photo identification, and proof of address. These documents will allow you to register the vehicle and obtain the title.

List of Sources:

Don’t Miss: Pay Traffic Tickets Online Nyc

S In Using Earthodyssey Sales Tax Calculator For New York

EarthOdyssey is a great resource for calculating the vehicle sales tax in New York. Use the following steps when inputting your information into EarthOdyssey:

  • Choose the tax jurisdiction where the vehicle will be shipped. This may be a county or a city within a county. If you aren’t sure of the county, choose the city.
  • Next, enter the total cost of the vehicle or products that will be purchased.
  • Finally, select the ‘Calculate Tax’ button to get the total sales tax on a vehicle in your city/county.
  • How To Sell A Car In California

    Feds Warn About Gift Card Scams | NBC New York

    As many vehicle owners know, selling a car at a dealership is a straightforward process. You can sell it for cash or use it as a trade-in towards another vehicle. But in either case, the dealership is the party that manages all the paperwork. You basically just sign on the dotted line.

    Selling a car independently is a bit more complicated. You need to handle all the paperwork and comply with all the relevant state regulations on your own. But if you can manage the process, you can often maximize your value regardless of who decides to buy your vehicle.

    Every state has different requirements, so accordingly, the process will be slightly different for each. Heres an overview of how to sell a car in California.

    Read Also: Nyt Paywall Smasher

    Insure Your Ride With Geico

    You will need car insurance for the car you just bought or the vehicle you got to replace the one you just sold. GEICO offers outstanding coverage at a great price. Plus, you could save even more when you insure your car and home through us. Get your free, no-obligation quote today to see how much you could save.

    New York Car Bill Of Sale

    New York requires that you complete a bill of sale whenever you buy or sell a car privately. You may use the Vehicle Bill of Sale created by the Department of Motor Vehicles or draft your own. In either case, the bill of sale should include:

    • Purchase date and price
    • Names and signatures of buyer and seller
    • Year and make of the vehicle
    • Vehicle identification number

    The buyer must submit the original bill of sale to the DMV along with the transferred title. The buyer and seller may keep copies for their records.

    Read Also: How To Register A Car In New York

    New Yorks Best Car Dealerships:

    The top rated Car Dealerships in New York are:

    • New York Motors full service repair shop, car finance and transmission specialist
    • Enterprise Car Sales a car dealership with no-haggle pricing
    • Major World one of New Yorks premier used car dealerships
    • Nicks Auto Sales Co impressive selection of cars to meet your needs
    • Sunrise Auto Sales cars with extended service controls and warranties avaliable

    First Time New York Vehicle Registration

    Free Car (Vehicle) Sales Receipt Template

    Buying a new or used car from a New York dealer? Its fairly common for new car dealers to roll the price of your new registration into the overall price of the car . For many people, this is the easiest and most convenient way to take care of registering and titling your new car. If youre buying a car from a private party not from a dealer the state makes it easy for you, with the aptly named E-ZVisit Registration Page. On that page, youll complete your registration application and print out a barcoded copy, which youll bring to the DMV along with the following:

    • Your NYS Driver License, non-driver ID or permit
    • Your NYS Certificate of Title
    • Proof of New York State automobile liability insurance
    • Payment of fees
    • Proof of incorporation

    If you purchased the vehicle from a New York dealer, but are opting to take care of the registration yourself, youll also need to download and complete a New York Vehicle Registration / Title Application form

    Moving to New York from out of state? The process is basically the same as it would be if you were registering a newly purchased vehicle. There are a few alternate documents youll need to provide.

    For a new vehicle purchased from an out-of-state dealer, youll need to provide the Manufacturers Certificate of Origin , and the dealers bill of sale.

    You May Like: What Do I Need To Register A Car In Ny

    Popular Articles
    Related news