How To Register A New York Car In Florida
When people move from New York to the state of Florida, they must register their vehicle within just 10 days of becoming a resident, but have up to 30 days to get a new driver’s license. New residents of the Sunshine State will typically title their vehicles simultaneously as part of the registration process.
Adding A Name To A Title Certificate
You cant add a name to a current title certificate. You must apply for a new title certificate that displays the two names. The current owner signs the title certificate to transfer the ownership to the two persons. The two persons must apply for a new title certificate.
Applying For A Florida Driver’s License
The state gives new residents up to 30 days to get a driver’s license, but they must provide the necessary documents. If they can’t do so within that time, they can get a 60-day temporary permit, which allows them to operate a vehicle while collecting the documents. When applying for a license, drivers must submit one of the following documents as their primary identification:
- U.S. birth certificate: Florida accepts only a county health department or CDC-issued birth certificates. It does not accept hospital-issued certificates.
- U.S. passport or passport card: If the passport has the individual’s current name, they do not have to show additional name change documents.
- Consular Report of Birth Abroad .
- Certificate of Naturalization .
- Certificate of Citizenship .
Applicants must show marriage certificates, court orders or divorce decrees, if applicable, to link their primary identification to the name on their driver’s license. They must also show proof of their Social Security number from a Social Security card, a W-2, a paycheck or pay stub, or 1099 form. They must also offer two forms of proof of their current address, but cannot use their existing license as that proof. These include, but are not limited to:
If an applicant does not have any of these documents, they can bring two documents from a parent, stepparent or legal guardian with a Certification of Address form if they live at the applicant’s address.
Recommended Reading: Ny Wax Museum Discount Tickets
Obtaining The Required Documents
Its a good idea to prepare the required documents beforehand to help avoid unnecessary delays or penalties with your out-of-state drivers license transfer. You will need to take the following documents and payment to your local NY DMV branch:
Proof of identity
U.S. passport or U.S. passport card
U.S. birth certificate issued by a state or local authority
Certificate of naturalization or citizenship
A valid out-of-state drivers license
Must contain a photo of you
Must be valid or expired for less than 24 months
Issued at least 6 months before you apply for the NY drivers license
Pay the NY Drivers License Transfer Fees
$65 – $75 fee
Make sure you have the appropriate documentation completed and ready to submit to the NY DMV clerk.
Refund Option : Registration Fee
If you surrender your vehicle plates during the first year of a 2-year registration, you can request a refund of part of the registration fee. The amount you can receive is 50% of the 2-year registration fee. You cannot get a refund if the second year of the registration has started. A processing fee of $1 is subtracted from the refund amount. If you surrender your vehicle plates at a county-operated DMV office, you must pay an additional processing fee of $1 to surrender your vehicle plates.
You cannot receive a refund of the vehicle plate fee, the title certificate fee or other fees you paid when you registered the vehicle. The New York DMV can refund only a part of the registration fee as described above.
Here is an example:
- You paid $115 to register your vehicle for two years. The amount you paid included $50 for the two years of the registration , $50 for the title certificate and $15 for the vehicle plates.
- You surrender the vehicle plates during the first year of the registration, and you qualify for a refund of $24. This is a refund of the $25 fee for the second year of the registration with the $1 processing fee subtracted. There is no refund of other fees or taxes.
When you surrender your vehicle plates, your FS-6T receipt indicates if you are eligible to receive a refund. If you are eligible for a refund and you do not request a transfer receipt, your refund is processed automatically. You receive your refund by mail in several weeks.
Read Also: Pay Nyc Traffic Tickets Online
Vehicle Registration And Renewal In New York
Whether youre planning a move to New York State, are a New Yorker who just bought a new car, or are simply wondering how to renew your New York registration, theres a few steps that youll need to take care of. Luckily, the state of New York makes registering your car a fairly easy process the answers to just about every question you may have about New York vehicle registration can be found on the New York DMV webpage. Heres a few things youll need to be mindful of.
The New York Auto Title Application
To get a car title in New York, you will first need to obtain adequate auto insurance on your new vehicle, whether you purchased it used or new. You have 180 days to get car title and registration documents after the effective date printed on your insurance card.
Vehicle titles and registrations are applied for simultaneously when you file Form MV-82, Vehicle Registration/Title Application. The NY DMV also provides a helpful new car title instruction document, Form MV-82.1, that clearly details what is expected in each section of the application.
All vehicles getting a car title in New York must undergo a safety inspection at a DMV-licensed location every 12 months or whenever the ownership of a vehicle is transferred to another driver. Most new or used car title applicants will need to have an emissions inspection, which can be done at the same time as the safety inspection.
The NY vehicle title and registration form includes sections for personal information, including your full name, driver license number, date of birth and current mailing address. In New York, the car title owner does not have to be the same person whose name appears on the registration, so the form includes a place to list more than one persons information.
Don’t Miss: Watch Kim And Kourtney Take New York
New York Car Registration Renewal Options
There are several ways to renew a car registration in New York, and each method provides its own advantages. If you have any questions about your car registration, for instance, you may choose to renew in-person.
Online renewal is great for individuals who have a computer and want to renew from the comfort of their home, while mail renewal is a convenient option for individuals who do not have access to a computer. Below you will learn how to renew a car registration in New York, whether you choose to renew online, in person or via the mail.
New York Vehicle Inspections
Vehicles that are registered in New York require a car inspection and smog check each year. New York drivers need to have these inspections completed within 10 days of purchasing a car. Drivers will receive a temporary sticker for their dashboard until the car passes both inspections. When the vehicle passes the required inspections, a permanent sticker is provided.
A smog inspection, also known as an emissions test, is a type of inspection that checks a cars pollution and exhaust control systems. All New York registered vehicles must pass this inspection to receive the initial registration or renew the registration.
Also Check: Can You Register A Car Without A License In Ny
New York Vehicle Registration Fees
Registering vehicles for the first time in New York requires payment of fees and taxes on the vehicle. These include sales tax, vehicle license plate fees, title certification fees, and vehicle use tax in some counties.
All first-time registrants must pay these NYS DMV fees:
- $25 plate fee.
- $50 title certificate fee.
- Sales tax of your jurisdiction.
There is also a 2-year fee of $32.50 if you drive an electric vehicle, or a car with 6 cylinders or more. Other vehicle registration fees vary based on your vehicle’s weight, and cover a period of 2 years. Go to the NYSDMV fees page to estimate a general figure for what it might cost to register your vehicle.
New York Online Replacement Vehicle Registration
There are a few cases when you are not allowed to get a replacement vehicle registration online. Here are the vehicle restrictions:
- Vehicles with an expired, suspended or revoked registration.
- Vehicles built before 1973.
- Trailers and transporters.
- Vehicles registered by the International Registration Bureau.
- If your vehicle is eligible for replacement registration online, you will need your plate number, your registration class , the zip code where the vehicle is registered, and a credit or debit card for payment.
Once you have completed the process, you can print a temporary replacement registration from the website that is valid for ten days. Your permanent registration document will be mailed within ten days.
You May Like: Changing Your Name In Nys
Do I Need To Register My Vehicle In New York State
- if you arent a resident of New York, the registration from your state of residence is valid here
- if you move to New York and become a resident, you must register your vehicle here within 30 days of becoming a resident
- if you are a resident of New York and you get a vehicle from another state which you will be driving on New York State roadways, you must register the vehicle here within 30 days
Custom Car Registration In New York
Registering a custom car in New York and obtaining antique vehicle registration and plates are procedures that can be completed by meeting a specific set of requirements set forth by the state Department of Motor Vehicles . During the custom and historic vehicle registration processes, applicants will be required to complete certain steps that do not apply to the standard car registration process.
Learn how to obtain a custom car registration as well as antique license plates in NY for these special types of motor vehicles by reading the sections outlined below.
Don’t Miss: How To Delete Nytimes Account
Using Temporary Florida License Plates
Florida issues temporary tags to vehicle owners and dealers during the registration process. Depending on a driver or dealer’s needs, they are valid for different periods. The most common temporary tags are good for 30 days. They allow buyers of new vehicles to drive their purchase off the lot, giving the seller and/or dealer enough time to title and register the car permanently. Issuance of 30-day tags also occurs:
- In casual or private sales.
- When banks, credit unions and other financial institutions do not have a license requirement, but need temporary plates to show the repossessions that they have for sale.
- When an out-of-state resident purchases a vehicle, RV or motorcycle in Florida and brings it back to their home state.
- When a person moves to Florida and needs to collect documentation of their title and registration from their former state.
- For heavy trucks or commercial vehicles if they remain in Florida.
Florida issues 10-day tags for owners who must weigh their car and verify their VIN for registration purposes, allowing the vehicle owner to undergo a physical inspection, which the state requires for initial tags and registration. Customers who apply for personal or specialized plates will have temporary tags that last for up to 90 days, allowing time for the manufacture of their permanent plates. Also, people temporarily employed in Florida can get 90-day tags.
Service Details & Requirements
Service fee quoted above is in addition to what the NYS DMV charges for a registration. We will send you an email with instructions after you place your order.Address changes incur an additional $25 fee.
New York State plates and registration include 2 license plates, registration card and sticker and 10 day temporary inspection from the date of the registration. Also included in this service is a title transfer if you are submitting a title not already in your name. It will be sent to the DMV along with your paperwork for processing and transferring to your name. The title will be mailed directly to you from the DMV and will arrive in 4-12 weeks to the address on your registration, but this time can vary. All required documents must be received using the shipping label provided. Once we are in receipt of your documents they will be reviewed for completeness. If all documents required are received, you will receive an email with an invoice for the DMV fees and once those fees are paid, your documents will be submitted for processing. Average processing times are around 1 week at this time but this time can vary. Expedited processing is available for an additional fee for certain but NOT all transactions. If there is anything missing or needs correcting, a DMVSTOP agent will reach out to you via email. If documents or payment are not received, they will not be processed.
Required documents include:
Read Also: New York Tolls Map
Having Another Another Person Submit Your Registration Application At A Dmv Office
Read the instructions for how to register a vehicle for someone else to learn how to do this.
See acceptable proofs for other vehicles .
What Constitutes A Non
If your drivers license falls under one or more of the following categories, transferring your drivers license will not be an option:
Suspended or revoked
Stolen or lost, in which case you have to apply for a replacement photo of the drivers license from the previous state
A hardship or an employment-only drivers license
Non-renewable or non-transferable
Don’t Miss: How To Register A Car In Nyc
When You Need A Safety Inspection
All vehicles registered in New York State must get a safety inspection at a DMV-licensed inspection station
- every 12 months
- when the ownership of the vehicle is transferred
A valid inspection sticker must be displayed on your vehicle. Inspections expire the last day of the month punched on the inspection sticker.
When Do You Need To Transfer Your Out
You are required to transfer your out-of-state drivers license within 30 days of establishing your residency in the state of New York. According to the NYS Vehicle and Traffic Law, individuals are considered a resident of the state of New York if they live in a room, apartment, house, or similar abodes for at least 90 days and plan to make it a fixed or permanent home.
Also Check: How Much Is It To Register A Car In Ny
New York Vehicle Registration Renewal Fees
Car registration renewal cost in New York varies based on the weight of the vehicle. The registration will last for two years. The fees are as follows:
- Cars that weigh no more than 3,450 pounds will cost anywhere from $26 to $55 to register.
- Cars that weigh between 3,451 pounds to 6,950 pounds will cost anywhere from $56.50 to $139 to register.
- Cars that weigh more than 6,950 will cost $140 to register.
Where To Apply For A Car Title In New York
Getting your NY car title documents begins with a visit to your nearest DMV office, because you must file the initial title and registration application in person for any vehicle you own or lease. If you need a certificate of title but require help finding the nearest DMV location, utilize the interactive map online or call the DMV at the number provided below.
Residents cannot obtain a pink slip registration document online or through the mail, although many other DMV services are now available online through the MyDMV portal. All New York DMV car title processing locations accept cash and credit or debit card payments, including American Express, Discover/Novus, MasterCard and Visa.
When getting your vehicle title and registration, you may also pay with a check or money order made payable to Commissioner of Motor Vehicles.
Also Check: Cost To Register Car In Ny
Temporary Surrender Of Vehicle Plates
Temporary surrender of vehicle plates
You can surrender your vehicle plates and reinstate the registration later. For example, you can surrender your vehicle plates and cancel liability insurance when you take your vehicle off the road for the Winter.
Remove frames and fasteners before you surrender a vehicle plate or vehicle plates. The DMV office will not accept a vehicle plate with a frame or any fasteners attached.
When you surrender your vehicle plates, request a receipt for transfer. Do not request a registration fee refund receipt.
The DMV does not store standard vehicle plates. If you surrender standard vehicle plates, they will be destroyed. You can apply for reinstatement of the registration at any DMV office that processes registration transactions. The DMV office will issue a new set of vehicle plates and can charge a vehicle plate fee of up to $15.00.
If you surrender personalized plates or custom plates, the DMV office will store your vehicle plates. You must apply for the reinstatement of the registration at the same DMV office where you surrendered your personalized plates or custom plates.
To apply for reinstatement of your registration and receive vehicle plates, bring the following items to the DMV office:
- completed form MV-82 ,
- the receipt you received when you surrendered your vehicle plates,
- an Insurance Identification Card that shows current insurance coverage,
- your proof of identity and date of birth,
- a check or cash for any fees.